Ismail Tara

Pakistani actor and comedian (born 1949)

Ismail Tara
Ismail Tara

(1949-11-16) November 16, 1949 (age 73)

Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan
Occupation Actor, comedian
Known for Fifty Fifty (TV comedy show)
Awards 4 Nigar Awards

Ismail Tara (Urdu: اسماعیل تارا) was a Pakistani actor and comedian He has worked in many stage plays, television and Lollywood films He is five times Nigar Awards winner for best comedian in Haathi Mere Saathi (1993), Aakhri Mujra (1994), Munda Bigra Jaye (1995), Chief Sahib (1996) and Deewarein (1998) He is well known for his best work in Fifty Fifty aired on PTV in the 1980s Mr Tara died in Karachi on November 24, 2022 due to kidney failure


Ismail Tara has been working in the film and television industry since the 1964 He also has worked in stage plays and TV dramas He ended up writing some scripts of the popular TV show Fifty Fifty along with fellow TV comedian Majid Jehangir, when the original scriptwriter Anwar Maqsood had a fall-out with the popular show’s director and actors in 1981


Year Movie Role
1993 Haathi Mere Saathi
1994 Aakhri Mujra
1995 Munda Bigra Jaye
1996 Chief Sahib
1997 Hum Kisi Se Kum Nahin
Jan Jan Pakistan
1998 Deewarein
Kabhi Haan Kabhi Naa
1999 Mujhe Jeene Do
2000 Mujhe Chand Chahiye
2002 Yeh Dil Aap Ka Huwa
2008 Khulay Aasman Ke Neechay
2013 Main Hoon Shahid Afridi Malick Khalid
2015 Jawani Phir Nahi Ani
Halla Gulla
2016 Sawal 700 Crore Dollar Ka
2018 Jackpot MrChina
The Donkey King Pehalwan Chacha
2019 Ready Steady No


  • Fifty Fifty – 1980s
  • Gharama – 1987
  • Rubber Band – 2005
  • Choki number 420 – 2008
  • Yeh Zindagi Hai – 2008
  • Nadaaniyan
  • One Way Ticket – 2012
  • Pak Villa – 2012
  • Dheeli Colony – 2012
  • Orangi Ki Anwari 2013
  • Bulbulay
  • Jinn Ki Aayegi Baraat 2018
  • Mirchiyaan 2018
  • Namak Paray 2018
  • Barfi Laddu 2019
  • Bhai Bhai 2019
  • Woh Pagal Si 2022

Stage plays

  • Soney Ki Chirya

Awards and nominations

  • Nigar Awards: Winner for best comedian for Haathi Mere Saathi in 1993
  • Nigar Awards: Winner for best comedian for Aakhri Mujran 1994
  • Nigar Awards: Winner for best comedian for Munda Bigra Jaye in 1995
  • Nigar Awards: Winner for best comedian for Chief Sahib in 1996
  • Nigar Awards: Winner for best comedian for Deewarein in 1998
  • The 1st Indus Drama Awards: Nominated for Best Actor Sitcom in a Leading Role and received Award for TV Comedy Series Fifty Fifty (1980s)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *