Barcelona, ​​Real Madrid, Bayern? Which club would you join if you wanted to win the Ballon d’Or?


Robert Lewandowski In the process of winning the Ballon d’Or, the striker finally admitted he swapped Bayern Munich for Barcelona in the summer in a bid to improve his chances of winning the award.

Lewandowski has enjoyed eight highly successful years in Germany and is the favorite to win the Ballon d’Or in 2020, which has seen him score 55 goals in 47 games. However, the striker was cruelly denied his chance due to the outbreak of the Covid-19 pandemic, which caused the event to be cancelled.

The 34-year-old — who won the men’s FIFA men’s awards in 2020 and 2021, while also picking up the 2021 Striker of the Year award at the Ballon d’Or ceremony — has signed for Barcelona. €45 million this summer and has claimed his decision was at least partially influenced by a calculated ploy to improve his chances of finally getting his hands on the Ballon d’Or.

“I know Barcelona is the team with the most players. I think the path from Barca is shorter than Bayern,” said the Polish poacher. Marka.


In fact, statistics show that Barcelona players have won European football’s most prestigious individual award more times than any other club — of course those numbers are significantly skewed. Lionel Messi He won seven times during his tenure at the Camp Nou between 2009 and 2021.

However, having already scored 11 goals this season in his first eight games for Barca, Lewandowski seems serious about chasing the Ballon d’Or that so cruelly missed him two years ago.

The Catalans have had their players claim the award more than twice as many times as Bayern have since the inaugural ceremony in 1956 (Blackpool’s only recipient to date, Sir Stanley Matthews), and it looks like history. on his side.

– Stream on ESPN+: LaLiga, Bundesliga, MLS, and more (US)

Barcelona (13 Ballon d’Or winners, 6 different players)

More than half of Barca’s total Ballon d’Or wins have been amassed by one man: Messi has been responsible for the club’s last seven triumphs, taking the top spot in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019 and 2021. He left the club to join Paris Saint-Germain on a free transfer.

Prior to Messi’s dominance, Ronaldinho (2005), Rivaldo (1999), Hristo Stoichkov (1994), Johan Cruyff (1973, 1974) and Luis Suarez (1960) all won the award while wearing it. Blagrana Lines.

Real Madrid (11 winners, 7 players)

Given that Karim Benzema Most likely to win the award this year, Real Madrid’s tally will rise to 12 in the near future, but will remain at 11 until then.

Luka Modric (2018) is Los BlancosNo player has claimed more Ballon d’Ors for the Spanish giants but the most recent winner Cristiano Ronaldo (2013, 2014, 2016, 2017.) Ronaldo has actually won the award five times overall, although his first win came in 2008 during his debut with Manchester United.

Going further back through the years, Real have Fabio Cannavaro (2008), Ronaldo Nazario (2002), Luis Figo (2000), Alfredo Di Stefano (1957, 1959) and Raymond Copa (1958) to thank for completing their impressive collection.

Juventus (8 winners, 6 players)

Juventus’ most recent Ballon d’Or triumph came in 2003 when the Czech Republic’s maestro Pavel Netvedt narrowly beat Arsenal’s Thierry Henry to the trophy.

Before that Zinedine Zidane (1998) and Roberto Baggio (1993) both won the award in the 1990s, while Michel Platini (1983, 1984, 1985) and Paolo Rossi (1982) secured an unblemished four-year run in the mid-1980s.

However, the BianconeriA maiden Ballon d’Or was claimed in 1961 when the great Omar Chivori won the honor after eliminating the club. Scudetto For the third time in four years.

AC Milan (8 winners, 6 players)

While level-pegging with their Serie A counterparts, Milan have to go back to 2007 to find their last Ballon d’Or winner in Kaká, who won the award three years after teammate and strike partner Andriy Shevchenko (2004) did the same.

The Rossoneri George Weah (1995), Marco van Basten (1988, 1989, 1992), Ruud Gullit (1987) and Gianni Rivera (1969) won the prize six times before 2000.



Dan Hutchison and John Agee Fortoft believe Robert Lewandowski should have won the men’s Ballon d’Or.

Bayern Munich (5 wins, 3 players)

Although it never happened due to circumstances beyond anyone’s control, 2020 should have seen Bayern lift the Ballon d’Or – thus upsetting the reign of an impenetrable Barcelona-Real Madrid duo that had been in place since 2009.

Lewandowski finished second behind Messi in the voting for the 2021 award, leading the Argentine to congratulate his Polish contemporary during his acceptance speech.

“I’d like to mention Robert, it’s a real honor to compete with him. Everyone knows and we agree that you were the winner last year. I think [award organisers] “France football should give you your 2020 Ballon d’Or, you deserve it,” Messi said from the podium.

Lewandowski was not so polite after that. “I’m not that interested in getting the 2020 award,” he told Polish outlet Kanale Sportow. “I like [Messi’s speech] It should be an honest and respectful statement from a great player, not empty words.”

With Lewandowski missing out in 2020, Bayern will have to go back to 1981 to find their most recent Ballon d’Or recipient, with Carl-Heinz Rummenigge collecting the award for the second consecutive year. With the legendary Franz Beckenbauer (1972, 1976) and Gerd Müller (1970) completing the set, it dominated the German club scene a decade ago.

Manchester United (4 wins, 4 players)

Ronaldo was the last Manchester United player to win the Ballon d’Or (2008) or to have a congratulatory entry in the top three of the voting.

David Beckham (second, 1999) and Eric Cantona (third, 1993) both reached the podium a decade apart, but United’s previous Ballon d’Or winner was George Best in 1968. Best was last. United’s legendary “Holy Trinity” to receive the award, following Sir Bobby Charlton (1966) and Denis Law (1964).



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here